Principal's Welcome & Admin Team Mission and Vision School Accountability Report Card
Our Soaring Staff Counseling Staff Electives English History/Social Science Junior Jet Corner Mathematics Physical Education Science SPED World Languages Student Support Services
Overview Registration Calendar & Teams Eligibility Coach & Staff Directory Athletic Boosters Resources For Families Title IX News
College Career Center A-G Requirements for UC & CSU College Essay Tips College Application Tips Common Application Tips College Fairs and Preview Days College Interview Tips Educational Opportunities for Students HBCU's Junior Timeline Naviance-Family Connection NCAA Eligibility Out-of-State Colleges & Tuition Parent Resources SAT & ACT Information Scholarships Scholarships for 9th, 10th and 11th graders Senior Timeline Job Opportunities & Work Permits Tutoring Resources Vocational Programs Volunteer Opportunities
After School Activities 2016-17 Alameda Unified School District Alumni English Language Learner Information PTSA School-Based Health Center SSC Student Life Volunteer Opportunities
Calendar-District Calendar-EHS Counseling Department Contact Us Course Catalog Course Selection Resources Forms Media Center Student Handbook Testing Resources Course Selection Portal Sexual Harassment Presentation

NCAA Eligibility

Interested in playing Division I or Division II sports in college?  Here are the eligibility requirements:


Core Courses:
NCAA Division I requires 16 core courses as of August 1, 2016. This rule applies to any student first entering any Division I college or university on or after August 1, 2016.  See the chart below for the breakdown of this 16 core-course requirement.

Please note, Division II will require 16 core courses beginning August 1, 2018. 

Test Scores
Both Division I and Division II have a sliding scale for test scores and grade-point average.

The SAT score used for NCAA purposes includes only the critical reading and math sections. The writing section of the SAT is not used.

The ACT score used for NCAA purposes is a sum of the four sections on the ACT: English, mathematics, reading and science.

All SAT and ACT scores must be reported directly to the NCAA Eligibility Center by the testing agency. Test scores that appear on transcripts will not be used. When registering for the SAT or ACT, use the Eligibility Center code of 9999 to make sure the score is reported to the Eligibility Center.


Your 16 core classes in high school need to be the following:

♦ 4 years of English

3 years of Math  (math courses taken in middle school do not count)

2 years of  Social Science

♦ 2 years of a Lab Science

♦ 2 years of a Foreign Language

♦ 1 year of an additional English/Math or Science (Drama counts as an English class for the NCAA)

2 years of additional courses from any of the subject areas listed above.









Registering with the NCAA Eligibility Center

How do I register with the NCAA?

- You register online 

Will it cost money?

- Yes, you can pay by credit card or if you qualify for Free or Reduced Lunch please see Lee and she get an electronic fee waiver for you.

When should I register?

- The Fall of your Junior year is what the NCAA recommends.